New workspace

Mama’s got a new office, er, sewing room. What ever we call it I am over the moon about it. It was always on my unofficial checklist for a new house to have dedicated space for my sewing and for hubby to have an office. When we found a house within our budget and it has 5 bedrooms, I think we both started staking out which room would be for what. Mr. SewLuxeSew was super anxious for a while. He officially made an offer on the house BEFORE I had seen it in person. When I was able to see it about month later, all his fears were erased because it is perfect.

Anyway back to the new workspace.

DSCN4107

I had a great time starting from a blank slate with the furniture arrangement. My family helped furnish this room with a, dare I say antique, dining room set! Which got a fresh coat of white paint and stain on the top, except the dining table and benches.

DSCN4108

Here is the opposite side of the room. It’s a little messy as I was planning the quilting on a double wedding ring quilt top that had been hanging around for a, ahem, few years. (post coming soon about the quilting)

DSCN4110

Here is where the machines live. I still need to find a permanent home for my embroidery machine. For now it is still packed in its original box.

Before we set up this room I took the time to paint/stain the furniture to match.

IMG_2470

Book shelf in the closet. This is where I keep my fabric stash and books. We had to take the doors off the closet to get the bookshelf in.

IMG_2487

Some furniture waiting to be painted white. Well all the same shade of white. The tops are on the floor to be stained dark. IMG_2506

Here is the bottom of the hutch. This was painted a cream color. So I stripped the paint from the top, re stained it, and then painted the bottom. IMG_2524

Here is the sewing desk. I think I was auditioning it in different locations. I thought that I would like to have the desk facing out so I was not staring at the wall when I sew, but it’s not practical. I would end up fighting with my fabric/quilts as I sew.

DSCN4109

So for now…I love it. I have room to move around the “cutting” table that is in the middle of the room. I kept the benches tucked under the table incase kiddos or I want to sit and work on something at the table. Sorry for the dark picture.

IMG_2541

I tried to keep my room as kid friendly as possible. Scissors/Rotary cutters are hanging high on the wall between the sewing machine and ironing board. The Iron is always unplugged and stored on the ironing board. I did find that the knobs on the serger are very tempting to turn and play with…so I guess I will need to sew a cover for it. For extra safety there is a baby gate up in the doorway for times when I am not in the room.

After packing up and moving almost all my craft supplies (some got donated) I got a reality check on all the unfinished projects I have. Here are some of the biggies…

  • 3 complete quilt tops – backing and batting already purchased
  • 3-4 unfinished quilt tops – majority of the piecing already done
  • fabric and notions for 2 perfect totes
  • 2 plastic tote bins full of yarn with hopes of practicing on the knitting machine
  • two embroidery CDs for quilt blocks
  • baby blankets for my kids 😦

YIKES!!!!!! Time to get to work…I’m running out of excuses.

Leave a Reply

